Information published about the UIF ITR Learnership Programme 2026 describes a 12-month learnership aimed at unemployed South Africans, with training reportedly focused on business and information technology.
According to the Edupstairs article supplied for this report, the programme offers a R3,000 monthly stipend and a SETA-accredited qualification. The same source says applicants should be South African citizens who are unemployed and have completed Matric or an equivalent qualification.
However, Youthscope could not independently verify the specific 2026 UIF ITR learnership announcement on an official Department of Employment and Labour or UIF webpage during its latest check. The details below are therefore attributed to the published source rather than presented as independently confirmed UIF requirements.
UIF ITR Learnership 2026: What You Need to Know
The reported programme combines training in Business Administration and Information Technology over 12 months.
The source says participants would receive a monthly stipend while completing theoretical and practical training.
Opportunity Details
| Detail | Information |
|---|---|
| Programme | UIF ITR Learnership Programme 2026 |
| Organisation | Unemployment Insurance Fund (UIF), according to the supplied source |
| Duration | 12 months |
| Stipend | R3,000 per month, according to the supplied source |
| Training areas | Business and Information Technology |
| Qualification | SETA-accredited qualification, according to the supplied source |
| Target group | Unemployed South African citizens |
| Minimum qualification | Matric or equivalent, according to the supplied source |
| Closing date | Not specified |
| Application method | Online portal, according to the supplied source |
Who Can Apply?
The supplied Edupstairs information states that applicants must:
- Be South African citizens.
- Be unemployed.
- Have completed Matric or an equivalent qualification.
- Be willing to participate in the 12-month programme.
- Be able to provide the requested documentation.
These requirements should be confirmed against the official UIF or Department of Employment and Labour source before an applicant submits personal information, because Youthscope could not independently verify the specific 2026 ITR intake from an official source.
What Does the Learnership Involve?
The published information describes two broad training areas.
Business Skills
The source lists areas such as:
- Business communication
- Administrative procedures
- Office management
- Customer service
- Workplace ethics
- Project coordination
Information Technology
The source also lists:
- Basic computer literacy
- Data management
- Digital communication tools
- Office software applications
- Introductory IT systems and networks
The exact curriculum, occupational qualification title and training provider were not independently confirmed by Youthscope.
R3,000 Monthly Stipend
According to the supplied Edupstairs article, successful participants would receive a R3,000 monthly stipend for 12 months.
That would amount to R36,000 over 12 months if the full stated monthly amount were paid for every month. However, Youthscope has not independently verified the payment arrangement, so applicants should confirm the stipend directly through an official UIF or Department of Employment and Labour channel before relying on the figure.
The stipend should also not be described as a salary.
Required Documents
The supplied source lists the following documents:
- Certified South African ID copy, reportedly not older than two months
- Certified copy of the highest qualification or Matric certificate
- Updated CV
- Proof of residence
- Medical certificate where an applicant is applying under disability criteria
Because these requirements were not independently located in an official 2026 UIF announcement, applicants should confirm the document requirements through the official application route before preparing or submitting them.
Registering as a Work-Seeker
South African government guidance says unemployed people can register as work-seekers at their nearest Labour Centre so that employers can find them when offering learnership opportunities. The government also advises unemployed people to contact SETAs about learnership opportunities.
This is useful general guidance, but Youthscope cannot confirm from the official sources reviewed that work-seeker registration is a mandatory requirement specifically for the UIF ITR 2026 programme.
How to Apply
The supplied article refers to an online application portal, but the specific official application URL was not available in the material that Youthscope could independently verify.
Applicants should therefore avoid using an unverified application link simply because it appears on a third-party website.
Before submitting personal information, confirm:
- That the opportunity is listed by the UIF or Department of Employment and Labour.
- That the application route is official.
- That the programme reference is correct.
- That the requirements match the official announcement.
- That there is no request for an application fee.
APPLY FOR THE UIF ITR LEARNERSHIP PROGRAMME 2026 HERE
The Department of Employment and Labour publishes official UIF information and provides UIF contact details, including the UIF call centre on 0800 030 007.
Important Date
Closing date: Not specified in the available information.
The supplied Edupstairs article states that no closing date was specified.
Youthscope has not found an official 2026 closing date for this specific ITR learnership in the sources checked, so no deadline is being added.
Is This the Same as Other UIF Learnerships?
Applicants should be careful when comparing this programme with other UIF-funded or UIF-linked learnerships.
For example, the Department of Employment and Labour has previously published UIF Labour Activation Programme learnership opportunities with different requirements, locations, stipends and application arrangements. A 2024 official notice for an IT learnership in Limpopo, for example, listed a R2,000 monthly stipend and a requirement relating to previous UIF contribution.
That older programme should not be treated as evidence of the requirements for the 2026 ITR programme.
Does UIF Offer Other 2026 Opportunities?
The Department of Employment and Labour is also publishing separate UIF opportunities. Its current vacancies include UIF graduate internship programmes for the 2027/28 to 2029 financial years, with their own qualifications, stipends, references and application deadlines.
These internships are separate from the ITR learnership described by the supplied third-party source.
Suggested
Relevant Youthscope content:
- Latest learnerships in the Western Cape
- Welding and artisan opportunities
- Apprenticeships in South Africa
- Learnerships with stipends
- TVET and technical training opportunities
Frequently Asked Questions
Who can apply for the UIF ITR Learnership 2026?
The supplied source says the programme is intended for unemployed South African citizens who have completed Matric or an equivalent qualification.
How much is the stipend?
The supplied source states that the stipend is R3,000 per month for the reported 12-month programme. This figure should be confirmed through an official UIF or Department of Employment and Labour announcement.
How long is the programme?
The published information states that the programme lasts 12 months.
What areas does the programme cover?
The supplied information describes training in Business Administration and Information Technology.
What is the closing date?
A closing date was not specified in the supplied information, and Youthscope could not independently verify an official 2026 deadline.
Is the programme officially confirmed by UIF?
Youthscope found official UIF and Department of Employment and Labour information, but did not locate an official 2026 announcement confirming the specific ITR learnership details supplied by Edupstairs. Applicants should therefore verify the programme through official channels before submitting personal information.
Final Reminder
The reported UIF ITR Learnership 2026 offers potentially useful information for unemployed South Africans interested in business or IT training, but the R3,000 stipend, eligibility requirements, document list and application route should be verified against an official UIF or Department of Employment and Labour announcement.
Do not pay anyone to secure a learnership place, and do not submit personal documents through an application route until its authenticity has been checked.
Official Source
Department of Employment and Labour / Unemployment Insurance Fund
Youthscope found official UIF information and contact details on the Department of Employment and Labour website, but did not find an official 2026 announcement confirming the specific “UIF ITR Learnership Programme 2026” details in the supplied Edupstairs article.
The supplied source is:
Edupstairs — UIF ITR Learnership Programme 2026
Last Checked Date
1 October 2026
The specific UIF ITR 2026 claims were checked against available official Department of Employment and Labour/UIF information. The programme details could not be independently confirmed from an official 2026 announcement.
Author/Updated Information
Written by: Mbalizuke Nkosi
Published: 1 October 2026
Updated: 1 October 2026
Information checked: 1 October 2026

Mbalizuke Nkosi is the editorial voice behind YouthScope.co.za, a South African youth-focused platform dedicated to providing reliable information on opportunities, education, and career development. The platform serves students, graduates, job seekers, and young professionals by delivering accurate, timely, and easy-to-understand content.
Through informative and professionally curated content, YouthScope.co.za aims to equip young people with the knowledge and resources needed to make informed decisions about their education and future careers.
For inquiries or support, please contact admin@youthscope.co.za.
2 thoughts on “UIF ITR Learnership 2026: R3,000 Monthly Stipend and Requirements”