SDC Learnership Programme 2026: South Africans Can Apply for 12-Month Training

SDC Learnership Programme 2026: Check Requirements, Programmes and How to Apply

The Skills Development Corporation (SDC) is accepting learner details from eligible South Africans for its learnership opportunities, with programmes covering areas such as business administration, management and information technology. The learnerships involve structured theoretical and practical workplace learning over at least 12 months.

SDC’s current learner application information states that applicants must meet specific eligibility criteria, including South African citizenship, a minimum Grade 12 qualification, an age requirement of 18 to 28, and availability for the 12-month programme. Applicants must also meet SDC’s B-BBEE eligibility criteria.

The available application information does not specify a closing date, so applicants should check SDC’s official learner pages for current availability before submitting their details.

SDC Learnership Programme 2026: What You Need to Know

A learnership combines structured learning with practical workplace experience. SDC describes its learnerships as programmes incorporating theoretical knowledge, practical simulation and physical workplace experience, leading to occupationally related qualifications registered on the National Qualifications Framework.

The organisation operates learner facilities in Johannesburg and Cape Town and provides online learner-detail submission routes for eligible applicants. However, submitting details online is not the end of the application process: SDC says eligible learners must submit original documents in person to begin the official application process.

Opportunity Details

DetailInformation
OrganisationSkills Development Corporation (SDC)
OpportunityLearnership programmes
DurationAt least 12 months
Location/application campusesJohannesburg and Cape Town
Minimum qualificationVaries by programme; Grade 12 is required for some programmes
Age18–28 according to SDC’s learner eligibility criteria
CitizenshipSouth African citizen
Employment statusLearner eligibility is aimed at unemployed applicants
Study statusApplicants should check SDC’s current eligibility requirements
Practical trainingMandatory
Closing dateNot specified in the available official information
StipendNot specified on the official SDC pages checked

SDC’s qualification list shows that entry requirements can differ between programmes. For example, its accredited learnership information lists Grade 12 for the National Certificate: Business Administration, while some other programmes accept Grade 11.

Who Can Apply?

According to SDC’s current learner application criteria, applicants must meet the following requirements:

  • Be a South African citizen.
  • Be between 18 and 28 years old.
  • Meet SDC’s stated B-BBEE eligibility criteria.
  • Have the qualification required for the particular learnership.
  • Be available for the 12-month learnership programme.
  • Attend the required practical training.
  • Be either an applicant living with a disability or an able-bodied applicant.

The qualification requirement is programme-specific. SDC’s current learnership list includes programmes where Grade 11 is acceptable as well as programmes requiring Grade 12. Applicants should therefore check the entry requirement for the particular qualification they select rather than assuming that one education requirement applies to every SDC programme.

Learnership Programmes Available

SDC lists a range of accredited learnerships. Among the programmes relevant to the supplied opportunity information are:

  • National Certificate: Business Administration
  • Further Education and Training Certificate: Generic Management
  • National Certificate: Management
  • National Certificate: Information Technology: End User Computing

SDC’s broader current list also includes other business, information technology, insurance, retail, bookkeeping, office administration and occupational qualifications. Entry requirements vary considerably between programmes.

Business Administration

The National Certificate: Business Administration is listed as an NQF Level 2 qualification with Grade 12 as its admission requirement on SDC’s current accredited-learnership page.

The programme may be relevant to applicants interested in administrative and business-support environments. Applicants should rely on the specific SDC programme information for the exact training and placement details.

Generic Management and Management

SDC also lists the Further Education and Training Certificate: Generic Management and National Certificate: Management.

The current SDC qualification table indicates that the admission requirements are different for these programmes. Generic Management is listed with Grade 12 preferred and Grade 11 acceptable, alongside computer literacy, while the National Certificate: Management is listed with Grade 11 as the admission requirement.

This means applicants should select a programme based on its actual entry requirements rather than applying solely because they meet a general SDC eligibility condition.

Information Technology Learnership

The National Certificate: Information Technology: End User Computing is also listed by SDC. The current qualification table gives Grade 11 and basic computer literacy as its admission requirements.

This programme may be relevant to applicants interested in developing workplace computer skills.

Practical Workplace Training

The practical component is an important part of an SDC learnership.

SDC describes its learnerships as combining theoretical learning, practical simulation and physical workplace experience. Its learner eligibility information also states that participants must attend mandatory practical training.

Applicants should therefore be prepared to participate in the required practical component rather than treating the opportunity as an online-only course.

Applicants Living With Disabilities

SDC accepts applications from both people living with disabilities and able-bodied applicants. It maintains separate learner-detail submission routes for these categories in Johannesburg and Cape Town.

For applicants applying under the disability category, SDC’s application information says supporting proof of disability is required as part of the document-submission process.

What Applicants Should Prepare

Unlike many online opportunities where submitting an online form is the complete application, SDC states that eligible learners must submit original documentation in person to begin the official application process.

SDC’s current application-process page lists the following documents:

  • Proof of disability, where applicable
  • Updated CV, including tertiary qualifications and/or work experience
  • Proof of residence
  • Two certified copies of the highest school qualification
  • Two certified copies of an ID
  • A three-month bank statement
  • SARS Tax Number / Notice of Registration

Applicants should check SDC’s official application instructions before travelling to a campus, as document requirements and submission arrangements can change.

How to Apply for the SDC Learnership Programme

SDC provides separate learner-detail submission routes for applicants in Johannesburg and Cape Town, with separate routes for able-bodied applicants and applicants living with disabilities.

Step 1: Check the eligibility requirements.
Confirm your age, citizenship, qualification, B-BBEE eligibility and availability for the programme.

Step 2: Select the appropriate learner route.
Choose the Johannesburg or Cape Town option and the relevant able-bodied or disability application route.

Step 3: Submit your details online.
SDC allows eligible learners to submit their details to its learner-sourcing pool.

Step 4: Submit the required original documents.
SDC states that online submission does not replace the in-person document submission required to start the official application process.

Step 5: Complete the screening process.
SDC’s published process includes document review, an interview and an assessment test. The assessment requires applicants to achieve 80%, according to SDC’s current application-process information.

Step 6: Await validation and learnership allocation.
SDC says successful applicants are added to its validated applicant database before learners are allocated to learnerships according to its clients’ B-BBEE Skills Development needs.

Official Application Routes

Johannesburg – Able-Bodied Applicants:
SDC Johannesburg Able-Bodied Learner Application

Cape Town – Able-Bodied Applicants:
SDC Cape Town Able-Bodied Learner Application

Johannesburg – Applicants Living With Disabilities:
SDC Johannesburg Disability Learner Application

Cape Town – Applicants Living With Disabilities:
SDC Cape Town Disability Learner Application

Is There a R5,000 Monthly Stipend?

The supplied source material refers to an estimated R5,000 monthly stipend. However, the current official SDC pages checked for this article do not specify a R5,000 stipend.

For that reason, Youthscope should not present R5,000 as a confirmed payment. Applicants should confirm any stipend amount, payment conditions and programme-specific financial arrangements directly with SDC before accepting an opportunity.

Important Date

Closing date: Not specified in the official information available.

Applicants should check the relevant SDC learner page for current availability rather than relying on an unofficial closing date.

Why This Opportunity May Be Worth Considering

The SDC programme combines formal learning with practical workplace exposure and offers qualifications across several fields. Its current qualification list covers business, management, information technology and a range of other occupational areas.

The important point for applicants is that requirements differ between qualifications. Checking the specific programme before submitting details can help applicants avoid applying for a qualification for which they do not meet the admission requirements.

Suggested

Relevant Youthscope content:

Frequently Asked Questions

Who can apply for the SDC learnership programme?

SDC’s current eligibility criteria require applicants to be South African citizens aged 18 to 28 who meet its stated B-BBEE criteria and the requirements of the selected learnership. Applicants must also be available for the 12-month programme and attend mandatory practical training.

What qualification do I need?

It depends on the programme. SDC’s current list includes programmes requiring Grade 12 and others where Grade 11 is acceptable. Check the admission requirement for the specific qualification.

How long is the learnership?

SDC describes a learnership as involving at least 12 months of structured theoretical and practical learning.

Is the stipend R5,000 per month?

The supplied source material describes R5,000 as an estimated stipend, but this amount is not specified on the current official SDC pages checked for this article. Confirm the payment details directly with SDC.

Where can applicants apply?

SDC currently provides learner application routes for Johannesburg and Cape Town, with separate routes for able-bodied applicants and applicants living with disabilities.

Is there a closing date?

A closing date is not specified in the official information checked. Applicants should verify current availability on SDC’s official learner pages.

Final Reminder

Before applying, check the requirements for the exact qualification you want to pursue. In particular, verify the admission requirement, age criteria, B-BBEE eligibility, document requirements and practical-training commitment.

Use SDC’s official application route rather than relying on third-party forms or unofficial application links.

Official Source

Skills Development Corporation (SDC) — SDC’s official website and learner application information.

Last Checked Date

30 September 2026

Author/Updated Information

Written by: Mbalizuke Nkosi
Published: 30 September 2026
Updated: 30 September 2026
Information checked: 30 September 2026

Leave a Comment