SDC Accredited Learnerships 2026: Requirements, Stipend and How to Apply

Skills Development Corporation (SDC) offers a range of accredited learnerships and occupational qualifications for eligible South Africans, with programmes covering areas such as business administration, information technology, technical support, insurance, wealth management, bookkeeping, security, project management, supply chain and cybersecurity.

The important point for applicants is that requirements differ according to the qualification. SDC’s official list includes programmes with entry requirements ranging from Grade 9 or Grade 10 through to Grade 12, while some specialised qualifications require Mathematics, Mathematical Literacy, computer literacy or previous industry experience.

SDC also explains that learnerships combine theoretical learning with practical workplace experience and lead to occupationally related qualifications registered on the National Qualifications Framework (NQF).

There is no single SDC monthly stipend amount published on the official learner information reviewed for this article. SDC says that businesses funding learnerships pay learners a stipend, which is not equivalent to a full-time salary and should at least cover transport and meals.

SDC Learnerships 2026: What You Need to Know

The Skills Development Corporation, also known as SDC, is an accredited learning institution that provides SAQA- and QCTO-accredited qualifications and learnership programmes.

Its official learnership information lists 13 SAQA-accredited qualifications and 7 QCTO-accredited qualifications, alongside other skills programmes. SDC says its learnerships are designed to combine theoretical knowledge, practical simulation and physical workplace experience.

Rather than having one general SDC learnership with one set of requirements, applicants need to look at the specific qualification they are interested in.

For example, SDC’s published list includes entry-level programmes where Grade 10 or Grade 11 may be accepted, while other programmes require Grade 12 and additional subjects or qualifications.

SDC Learnership Details

DetailInformation
OrganisationSkills Development Corporation (SDC)
Programme typeAccredited learnerships and occupational qualifications
QualificationsSAQA- and QCTO-accredited programmes
NQF levelsVary by qualification
Entry requirementsVary by qualification
Study areasAdministration, IT, insurance, wealth management, security, bookkeeping, project management, supply chain and more
Application processDocument submission, review, interview and assessment
Assessment requirementSDC states applicants must pass an assessment with 80%
Application locationsJohannesburg and Cape Town campuses
StipendNot specified as a fixed amount
General closing dateNot specified in the official information reviewed

Who Can Apply for SDC Learnerships?

There is no single education requirement covering every SDC learnership.

The official qualification list shows different admission requirements depending on the programme. Examples include:

  • National Certificate: General Security Practices — Grade 10.
  • National Certificate: Management — Grade 11.
  • National Certificate: Information Technology: End User Computing — Grade 11 plus basic computer literacy.
  • National Certificate: Business Administration — Grade 12.
  • Further Education and Training Certificate: Technical Support — Grade 12.
  • Further Education and Training Certificate: Systems Development — Grade 12.
  • Occupational Certificate: Cloud Administrator — Grade 12 with Mathematical Literacy and a computer literacy certificate.
  • Occupational Certificate: Cybersecurity Analyst — Grade 12 with Mathematical Literacy and an NQF Level 4 IT technical qualification for unemployed applicants.

Some qualifications also have additional subject requirements.

For example, SDC lists Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy requirements for certain insurance, wealth management, project management and other programmes.

Important

The frequently stated requirement that every SDC applicant must be 18 to 28 years old is not presented as a universal requirement on the official accredited-learnership list reviewed for this article.

Applicants should therefore check the requirements for the specific qualification rather than assuming that one age or education rule applies to every SDC programme.

What Learnerships Does SDC Offer?

SDC’s official list covers a broad range of fields.

Business Administration

The organisation offers qualifications in business administration, business administration services and management.

These programmes can provide training in areas related to administration and business operations, depending on the qualification.

Information Technology

IT-related options include:

  • Information Technology: End User Computing
  • Technical Support
  • Systems Development
  • Information Technology: Systems Support

Some of these programmes have specific Grade 12, computer literacy or technical qualification requirements.

Cybersecurity and Cloud Administration

SDC’s published qualifications also include:

  • Cloud Administrator
  • Occupational Certificate: Cybersecurity Analyst

These programmes have specific entry requirements, so applicants should not assume that a basic Grade 12 certificate alone qualifies them for every technology programme.

Insurance and Wealth Management

The accredited programme list includes qualifications in short-term insurance and wealth management.

Some of these programmes require Grade 12 together with Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy and Business Economics or Accounting at specified levels.

Project Management and Supply Chain

SDC also lists:

  • Occupational Certificate: Project Manager
  • Occupational Certificate: Supply Chain Practitioner
  • Occupational Certificate: Clearing and Forwarding Agent

Requirements differ between these qualifications, including subject requirements and, for some programmes, previous industry experience.

Other Programmes

The published list also includes qualifications relating to:

  • Bookkeeping
  • Office administration
  • Wholesale and retail operations
  • General security practices
  • Recruitment
  • Marketing
  • Sales
  • Real estate
  • Commercial cleaning
  • Beauty therapy
  • Truck driving
  • Insurance claims administration
  • Training and development

Does SDC Pay a Monthly Stipend?

Yes, SDC’s official information confirms that learnerships funded by businesses include a learner stipend. However, SDC does not publish one fixed monthly stipend amount for all its learnerships.

SDC explains that the stipend is not equivalent to a full-time salary and should at least cover transport and meals. The amount can therefore not responsibly be presented as a single SDC-wide salary figure without confirmation for the particular learnership and funding arrangement.

Stipend: Not a Fixed Published Amount

The previously published ranges such as R3,500–R10,000 per month should not be treated as confirmed SDC stipend rates because those figures are not stated on the official SDC information reviewed for this article.

Officially confirmed: a learner stipend is paid in funded learnership arrangements.

Not officially specified: a universal monthly rand amount.

How Long Do SDC Learnerships Last?

SDC defines a learnership as a structured learning programme containing theoretical and practical workplace learning that leads to an occupationally related qualification registered on the NQF.

Its official information states that a learnership includes workplace experiential learning over at least 12 months.

The exact duration applicable to an individual programme should nevertheless be confirmed with SDC when applying.

What Happens During the SDC Application Process?

SDC provides a detailed application process for prospective learners.

Step 1: Submit Your Documents

SDC states that applicants must submit the required original documentation to its Johannesburg or Cape Town campus to start the official application process.

The listed documentation includes:

  • Updated CV
  • Proof of residence
  • Certified copies of the highest school qualification
  • Certified copies of ID
  • Three-month bank statement
  • SARS tax number/Notice of Registration
  • Proof of disability where applicable

SDC specifically states that documentation is subject to validation.

Step 2: Documents Are Reviewed

SDC reviews the submitted documentation to establish whether it is valid.

Applicants who successfully pass this stage are contacted for an interview.

Step 3: Learner Interview

The interview forms part of SDC’s pre-screening process.

According to SDC, the interview considers information about the prospective learner’s background, abilities and communication skills.

Step 4: Assessment Test

Applicants must complete an assessment test.

SDC states that applicants must achieve 80% to pass the assessment.

Step 5: Validation

After the document, interview and assessment stages, SDC validates the applicant information.

Successful applicants can then be added to SDC’s validated applicant database.

Step 6: Learnership Enrolment

Being placed in the database does not automatically mean immediate enrolment.

SDC says enrolment depends on its clients’ B-BBEE Skills Development needs. Once an applicant is allocated to a learnership, the applicant is invited to the campus to begin the learnership and sign the contract.

Can You Submit Your Details Online?

Yes. SDC provides an online details-submission route for eligible learners who want to join its learner sourcing pool.

However, applicants should understand the distinction between submitting details online and completing the official application process.

SDC states that eligible learners may submit their details online to join the pool, but that all eligible learners must complete the document-submission stage to start the official application process.

Official application route: SDC Student Application Process

What Applicants Should Prepare

Applicants considering an SDC learnership should first identify the specific qualification they want to pursue and compare its entry requirements with their own education and experience.

It is also important to have the documentation requested by SDC available.

According to SDC’s application process, applicants should prepare documentation including an updated CV, proof of residence, certified school qualification copies, certified ID copies, a three-month bank statement and SARS tax registration information.

Applicants with disabilities should also take note of SDC’s requirement for proof of disability where applicable.

Applicant Advice

Keep copies of your documents and make sure the information on your application is accurate.

Do not submit a qualification choice simply because it sounds attractive. Check the actual admission requirements first.

Is There an SDC Learnership Application Closing Date?

A general 2026 closing date is not specified in the official SDC information reviewed for this article.

SDC describes its learner sourcing and placement process as being linked to the learnership needs of its business clients. This means applicants should not assume that there is one universal annual closing date covering every SDC learnership.

Closing date: Not specified in the official information available.

Important Things to Know Before Applying

Accreditation Does Not Mean Guaranteed Employment

An accredited qualification can provide recognised learning and workplace experience, but completing a learnership does not automatically guarantee a permanent job.

SDC explicitly notes that there is no guarantee that the business funding a learnership will employ the learner after completion, although businesses can receive B-BBEE recognition for absorbing learners.

Requirements Depend on the Qualification

There is no reason to assume that all SDC learners need the same qualification level.

The official list ranges from programmes accepting Grade 9 or Grade 10 through to specialised qualifications requiring Grade 12, Mathematics, Mathematical Literacy, computer literacy, previous work experience or an existing NQF qualification.

Placement Is Not Automatic

Passing the initial process and entering SDC’s validated applicant database does not necessarily mean immediate placement.

SDC says placement depends on available client B-BBEE Skills Development needs.

Why an SDC Learnership May Be Worth Considering

The main value of a learnership is that it combines structured learning with practical workplace exposure.

SDC says its learnership model includes theoretical knowledge, practical simulation and physical workplace experience, with mentorship and support forming part of the learning approach.

For someone who meets the requirements, this can provide a route to:

  • Gain a recognised qualification
  • Develop practical workplace skills
  • Build experience
  • Learn from workplace environments
  • Develop professional skills
  • Potentially progress into further education or employment

However, future employment should not be presented as guaranteed.

Suggested

Relevant Youthscope content:

Frequently Asked Questions

Does SDC pay a learnership stipend?

Yes. SDC states that businesses funding learnerships pay a stipend to learners. However, a single fixed monthly amount is not specified in the official information reviewed. SDC says the stipend is not equivalent to a full-time salary and should at least cover transport and meals.

What qualifications can I study through SDC?

SDC lists qualifications in areas including business administration, IT, technical support, systems development, insurance, wealth management, bookkeeping, office administration, security, project management, supply chain, cybersecurity and other fields.

Can Grade 10 applicants apply?

Some SDC qualifications accept Grade 10, but not all programmes do. For example, SDC lists Grade 10 as the admission requirement for its National Certificate: General Security Practices. Applicants must check the requirements of the specific programme.

Can Grade 11 applicants apply?

Yes, some programmes accept Grade 11. SDC’s list includes qualifications such as National Certificate: Management and National Certificate: Information Technology: End User Computing with Grade 11 entry requirements, subject to additional conditions where stated.

Do applicants have to complete an assessment?

Yes. SDC’s official application process states that applicants write an assessment test and must achieve 80%.

Does completing the learnership guarantee a permanent job?

No. SDC states that there is no guarantee that the business funding the learnership will employ the learner after completion.

Final Reminder

If you are interested in an SDC learnership, start by checking the specific qualification and its admission requirements rather than relying on general claims about age, stipend or education requirements.

Prepare the documentation requested by SDC and follow the official application process. Remember that submitting your details to the learner sourcing pool does not by itself guarantee placement.

For the latest application information, use SDC’s official website and learner application process rather than relying on third-party posts.

Official application route: SDC Student Application Process

Official Source

Skills Development Corporation (SDC) — Accredited Learnerships

SDC Accredited Learnerships

Additional official application information:

SDC Student Application Process

The official SDC pages confirm the accredited qualification list, admission requirements, application stages, assessment requirement and stipend information used in this article.

Last Checked Date

2 October 2026

Author/Updated Information

Written by: Mbalizuke Nkosi
Published: 2 October 2026
Updated: 2 October 2026
Information checked: 2 October 2026

2 thoughts on “SDC Accredited Learnerships 2026: Requirements, Stipend and How to Apply”

Leave a Comment